Hamilton in Hamilton

Downtown Hamilton

My last name is Hamilton, and I am from Hamilton… hence the title and the topic.

Hamilton, Ontario has been my home for 22 years and quite frankly I’m sick of it having such a bad rap. If you live in Hamilton and don’t think you live in a super cool city, you are doing something wrong. Let me enlighten you…

First of all, let’s talk food (most likely will be a common theme on this blog). Every independent and local restaurant or bakery that opens up has been killing it. Here are my personal favourites:

  1. The Burnt Tongue – I dare you to find a better bowl of soup
  2. Lemon Grass – if you love Thai food as much I do, you need to check out this spot
  3. Earth to Table Bread Bar on Locke St. – the freshest food I’ve had in the hammer
  4. NaRoma Pizza Bar on Locke St. – even the pickiest eaters will be adventurous with this delicious za
  5. The Harbour Diner – most creative and delicious breakfast specials you will find! (and was on “You’ve Gotta Eat Here!” so that’s pretty cool)
  6. Mezcal – My boyfriend is Mexican and if he gives the thumbs up to a taco place you know it’s legit.
  7. Bananza’s – this hidden gem has the best hot sandwiches for the most affordable prices (you also have to indulge in their homemade Portuguese baked goods)
  8. August 8 Sushi – okay, this one isn’t an independent, but I can’t deprive you of the best sushi in town
  9. Brux house – has tasty and creative craft beers exclusive to their restaurant (good food too)
  10. Quatrefoil Restaurant – if you’re feeling a little fancy

When my university roommates come to visit me in Hamilton I feel an obligation to show them the best time and prove to outsiders that this really is an amazing up-and-coming city.

Now, I understand that there are some areas that are fixer-upers, but I think that is the case for most large cities. And growing up on the west side of the mountain, it was understood that you avoid downtown and especially the east and north end. But by instilling those beliefs in me I missed out on the central parts of what makes Hamilton, Hamilton. I have now had the privilege to work in the north end and the east end of downtown and have gotten to know many of the residents there. Let me enlighten you – they are just as kind, smart, and friendly as the resident from “up-the-mountain”. It’s strange to me that there is this stigma associated with “down-the-mountain”… When in reality, that is where the best part of Hamilton lies.

Anyways, my issues with the divide of upper and lower Hamilton can maybe be a future post. I started out this post happy and I’m going to finish it on a positive note as well!

Here are more reasons to love the Hammer:

  1. It is the waterfall capital of the world
  2. It has become a hot spot to for filming movies
    Don’t believe me? Here’s a SMALL list of some A-list movies that have scenes shot in Hamilton:
    – XMEN
    – Four brothers
    – Cinderella Man
    – The Incredible Hulk
    – Man of the Year
    – Hairspray
  1. The music- the local music scene is crazy… if you go into any local bar after 9:00 on most weeknights you will find some of the best bands you’ve seen. Do you know of the Arkells? Yeah, they’re from Hamilton.
  2. The theatre- Theatre Aquarius always has affordable shows at premium quality
  3. Sports- hello, we are home to the CFL’s Hamilton Tigercats and OHL’s Hamilton Bulldogs
    • Also affordable entertainment

Bottom line?
Don’t write Hamilton off so easy… you will be pleasantly surprised with the culture and atmosphere of this city. I don’t ever plan on leaving.

Leave a comment